Keep Your Reality Away From Me

Ricochet is such an awesome word, repeat it out loud for at least 15 times, amazing. Next thing you know, David Guetta’s Titanium is playing in your head  for the rest of your life, you’re more than welcome!

                            tumblr_nm6fstieve1txriapo3_400

I’m bulletproof, nothing to lose
Fire away, fire away
Ricochet, you take your aim
Fire away, fire away

But I digress, my mind is super fast but lacks focus, even more than usual, much more. I had five and a half biiiig cups of coffee (with just a hint of milk) since this morning and as we are approaching 6 PM, heart attack is starting to look like a logical ending to this lovely evening. I slept for two hours last night because I was watching the Oscars, just like I did the year before and the year before that. I am a hypocrite, I know. I am aware of it, so that makes it acceptable. More importantly,  for some of us Europeans the last Monday morning in February tastes like coffee, sugar and dark circles under eyes sprinkled with a dash  of hysteria. Sleep deprived, but determined that it was worth it, armed with fresh knowledge deriving from the center of the La La Land, a place that never truly existed, but it feels good to believe it’s for real. It’s very similar to religion and just like religious rituals, there is always a certain sacrifice a person needs to undertake.

To me, the best part about the Oscars and similar, highly mediatized events is the projection of safety and false togetherness, a sense that everything is OK and that unity and tolerance and art will prevail even when the highlight of the evening are racism, borders and bigotry. It’s hard not to feel joy after people of different races have shared the stage, handed and received awards and delivered inspiring, almost revolutionary speeches. Almost. Of course they mostly represent a privileged group of people which doesn’t share the rest of the world’s crucial problems, of course they write speeches in advance, of course they enjoy the attention…  but at least they are, in a way, giving a voice to those problems. Those messages circle the world in juxtaposition with all the hottest Ryan Gossling memes and that is not neglectable.

2016-10-30-1477863644-6514640-moonlight

And also, along with the scripted drama, there was the non planed pinnacle in form of strange faux pas at the very end of the show, which I haven’t seen live because I turned off the TV as soon as I heard that La La Land won the best picture award and finally went to sleep. Perfect timing as always.  I was sad when I realized I was only a few moments away from witnessing live the biggest award mistake in the history of  our time (I know I am exaggerating, but that’s the point!), although I was very happy to learn this morning that Moonlight is the actual winner. Oh the drama, the glamour, the humour, the controversy, Trump, botox, Mahershala, Matt Damon vs. Jimmy Kimmel, Jennifer Aniston who looks like Iggy Pop, the awkwardness, tears and gold – this year’s Oscar season had it all. 

Good night and see you next year!

 

Yours truly,

xoxo

 

 

Leave a Reply

