Hello, friend

It’s been a while. This morning I found an interesting article containing a list of free online digital classes. I was thinking about enrolling into some kind of class to learn the basics for programming or creating a website. Also, it wouldn’t be bad to upgrade my Microsoft Office skills, I’m pretty skilful in using Word, but I could use ‘some’ improvement in the Excel department.

Until my brother finds some time to help me with that, I think it’s a good idea to start with the simplest but useful subjects from the list I’ve discovered today. I will start with  the last one, No. 13 : Writing for the web, it’s completely free and the learning material is divided into 4 lectures which sounds reasonable to me.

My beginnings and gathered experience in journalism have already taught me about the main importance, although I don’t really remember much in theory. It’s natural that I’ve learned the most during practical work while getting advice from professionals and teachers.

I’ve mentioned somewhere in the previous posts that I share a project with two friends from my year at Uni, we started it to get extra points in a social media course, but nevertheless continued to work on it afterwards. I will go into details in one of the future posts, but for now I will just stress that I have to able to find appropriate content and post it on our social network profiles, make new contacts, write reviews, promote our brand, conduct interviews and find people to work with. There’s also communicating with our followers and being ready to react well in risky situations. It’s basically community management combined with field work so it’s safe to say learning new digital media skills is an absolute priority for me.

iStock_000057057316_600web

Of course, there are lots of things you can learn by yourself, every interested person with an Internet access can do it, but I like to learn things old-fashioned way and getting assignments and stuff. Apart from that, I hope I’ll get to learn some useful tricks and hacks (Mr. Robot withdrawal syndrome is kicking in again, sorry) that I will proudly present here.

Btw, the geek in me is happy because I’ll ge to take notes which I really like if the topic is not boring me to death. I’ve just applied, the class starts on September the 12th and lasts until the 11th October. Woooo, can’t wait!

Knowing how to write well is an important skill for just about anything, but have you ever considered that doing it for the web requires even more thought and energy? Because we look for quick answers on the Internet and social media nowadays, online content has to be short, engaging, helpful, applicable, and easy to find all at once. This course will help just about anyone — from journalists to technical writers to developers to aspiring bloggers — create content that really engages.

Leave a Reply

