Mr. Robot as if it’s real life

This is just a test. An idea of being a blogger who in my case is actually a masked aspiring writer always sounded appealing. This is definitely not the first time I started writing online, but my lack of discipline usually catches up with me and before you know it, it’s  winning in the first third of the race while I’m breading heavily. It is a feeling very similar to smoking a couple of cigarettes on an empty stomach (idiot) first thing in the morning and then running to catch a bus because you didn’t leave the house on time because you were smoking. All in all,  I don’t even get to see the finish line.

Needless to say, I am a different person now (I just fell of my chair because the lie punched me in the stomach) and I after 60 seconds of googling decided to open my account here on WordPress because, honestly,  it was the first free blogging platform I was offered. I like to write, but only on special occasions and when I do, I write stuff down in a notebook, place the notebook somewhere where it will never be found and forget about it after a couple of ‘diary entries’. After a month or two, I get a new notebook and start again. Never give up.

So, this will be my diary where I will share my thoughts on everyday life combined with my state of mind influenced by the movies, TV shows or even music that I’ve consumed lately. Escapism is my favourite mind set, so there are a lot of movies (cinema is my first not -so -secret passion) and other pop cultural products that I embrace gladly with my arms open widely.

Lately, I started watching the second season of Mr. Robot, the show that makes your mind race even after you binged watched on it’s episodes. Don’t worry, I will not talk about the plot, just share a few sentences of my impressions. The series perfectly sums up the struggles of our generation, but not in an ‘economically challenged young individual’ kind of way, but gives you a broader aspect. While doing that, it’s not condescending, you feel like: oh, yeah, I knew that, but there are also stuff you didn’t think about, so it can at least open your horizons a bit. The parts with hacking and different programs they  work in are not close to me (and many of other viewers I believe), so you just have to trust the storyteller I guess while feeling humble in a way. Oh but you can’t really trust the storyteller Elliot because he’s more unreliable than Holden Caulfield. And that’s the beauty of it. Now that I’ve mentioned beauty – the scenes are perfectly thought about, with no complications in the scenery (there are enough of those in the story), minimalism combined with necessary depictions of luxury of the ‘big sharks’ and messy emptiness of Elliot’s world. All of that would be useless without soundtrack that makes uncomfortable scenes get under your skin without you realizing it at first and make your heart pump a little faster, or slow everything down to a point of numbness. Also, a different song in  the beginning makes me put it on my playlist right away.

That’s it for now, excuse my English, I will do a proper grammar check a bit later today.

Leave a Reply

